top of page
  • HFP Musiccity

Celebrating Excellence at the 2024 BMI Christian Awards

Phil Wickham BMI Awards 2024

The 2024 BMI (Broadcast Music, Inc.) Christian Awards took place on Tuesday (June 18), recognizing the achievements of top Christian songwriters and music publishers. Hosted by BMI’s AVP of Creative, Nashville, Leslie Roberts, the invitation-only ceremony was held at BMI’s Music Row office, bringing together industry professionals to celebrate the year’s most impactful Christian music.

Highlights of the Night

Song of the Year: "Gratitude"

The award for Song of the Year was given to "Gratitude," written by BMI songwriters Dante Bowe and Ben Hastings (APRA). This heartfelt track, featured on Brandon Lake's album House of Miracles, received critical acclaim for its raw honesty. It was also nominated for Song of the Year and Worship Recorded Song of the Year at the 2023 GMA Dove Awards​.

Songwriter of the Year: Phil Wickham

Phil Wickham was honored as the Songwriter of the Year, having contributed to four of the award-winning songs: “Holy Forever,” “Hymn of Heaven,” “Then Christ Came,” and “This Is Our God.” Wickham, a multi-GRAMMY-nominated artist, has achieved billions of streams, and his latest album I Believe includes two No. 1 singles on Christian radio​.

Publisher of the Year: Essential Music Publishing

Essential Music Publishing earned the Publisher of the Year award, being responsible for 12 of the 25 most-performed songs of the year. Some of their notable tracks include “Cornerstone,” “God Is in This Story,” “Heart of God,” “Holy Forever,” and “Thank God I Do”​.

First-Time Winners

The ceremony celebrated 21 first-time winners who contributed to the top 25 most-performed Christian songs of the previous year. Notable among these new awardees were Bryan Fowler, Ben Fuller, Nicole Hannel, Jonathan Jay, Jacob Mills, Levi Mills, Hannah Shackelford, Sue Smith, Jon Reddick, Jesse Cline, Maryanne J. George, Enrique Holmes, Joshua Alan Tomlin, Michael Pollack, Elyssa Smith, Rebekah White Williams, David Leonard, Anthony Skinner, Jeff Bhasker, and pop icon P!nk, recognized for their songwriting prowess​.

Memorable Performances

The event featured several standout performances:

  • Anne Wilson performed a stripped-down version of her hit “Strong,” accompanied by BMI’s 2023 Songwriter of the Year, Jeff Pardo.

  • Charly Beathard, a promising newcomer, made her BMI performance debut with “Hallelujah Anyway.”

  • Phil Wickham delivered an acoustic rendition of his song “Hymn of Heaven,” captivating the audience with his soulful performance​ ( Home Page)​​ ( Home Page)​.

Top 25 Most-Performed Songs

BMI also announced the top 25 most-performed Christian songs of the year, which included:

  • "Fear Is Not My Future"

  • "God Is in The Story"

  • "Heart of God"

  • "Hymn of Heaven"

  • "Love Me Like I Am"

  • "Rest On Us"

  • "Who I Am"

This year’s BMI Christian Awards not only highlighted the exceptional talent within the Christian music community but also underscored the genre's growing influence and reach. The complete list of winners and their contributions can be found on BMI’s official site​ here. Congratulations to all the winners!

19 views0 comments


bottom of page